

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR REGULATION 7/21

Proclamation Providing for the Holding of a General Election under the Elections Act, 1991 and House of Assembly Act (O.C 2021-012)

Filed January 15, 2021

ELIZABETH THE SECOND, by the Grace of God of the United Kingdom, Canada and Her Other Realms and Territories QUEEN, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith.

DEBORAH E. FRY Administrator JENNIFER MERCER, Q.C. Deputy Attorney General

WHEREAS by Our Proclamation dated the 15th day of January, 2021, We did dissolve the Forty-Ninth General Assembly of Our Province of Newfoundland and Labrador;

AND WHEREAS it is Our Will and Pleasure to summon and call a General Assembly within Our said Province and for that purpose to direct the issue of Writs of Election for a General Election of Members to serve in the House of Assembly of Our said Province;

AND WHEREAS under the authority of section 57 of the Elections Act, 1991 (the "Act"), We are empowered to direct the issuance of a Writ of Election for the election of Members to the House of Assembly;

NOW KNOW YE that We do by this Our Proclamation direct that a Writ of Election for each of the Electoral Districts hereinafter mentioned be issued;

AND WE DO further direct

(1) <u>That</u> the last day for the nomination of candidates for the Election is Saturday, the 23rd day of January, 2021, at 2:00 p.m. in all Electoral Districts; (2) <u>That</u> the place in each Electoral District for the nomination of candidates for the said Election be as follows:

For the District of **Baie Verte - Green Bay** at The Gray Building, 60 Water Street, La Scie;

For the District of **Bonavista** at the Bonaventure-English Harbour Development Association, 62 Route 239, Trinity;

For the District of **Burgeo - La Poile** at 74 Main Street, Channel-Port aux Basques;

For the District of **Burin - Grand Bank** at the Burin Peninsula Autism Support Building, 6 Sugarloaf Avenue, Burin;

For the District of Cape St. Francis at the Multi-Purpose Building, 547 Bauline Line, Torbay;

For the District of **Carbonear - Trinity - Bay de Verde** at the Ronnie Johnson Memorial Centre, Route 70, Main Highway, Western Bay, NL;

For the District of Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair at 94 Pioneer Street, Port Hope Simpson;

For the District of **Conception Bay East - Bell Island** at the IBEW Building, 1082 Thorburn Road, Portugal Cove-St. Philip's;

For the District of Conception Bay South at All Saints Parish Hall, 419 Conception Bay Highway, Conception Bay South;

For the District of **Corner Brook** at Millbrook Mall, 2 Herald Avenue, Corner Brook;

For the District of **Exploits** at the CEC Trinity United Church, 17 Church Road, Botwood;

For the District of **Ferryland** at the Ferryland Town Hall, 88 Baltimore Drive, Ferryland;

For the District of **Fogo Island - Cape Freels** at the Aspen Cove Fire Hall, 34 Aspen Main, Aspen Cove;

For the District of **Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune** at the Elliott Premises, 33-37 Elliott Drive, Harbour Breton;

For the District of **Gander** at the McCurdy Complex, 1 Markham Place, Gander;

For the District of **Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans** at Procom Building, 10 Pinsent Drive, Grand Falls-Windsor;

For the District of **Harbour Grace - Port de Grave** at the Spaniard's Bay Municipal Council Building, 190 Conception Bay North Highway, Spaniard's Bay;

For the District of **Harbour Main** at the Avondale Railway Station Museum, 3 Costello's Road, Avondale;

For the District of **Humber - Bay of Islands** at the R.A. Pollett Building, 61 Riverside Drive, Corner Brook;

For the District of **Humber - Gros Morne** at the Central Development Building, #2 Route 430, Parson's Pond;

For the District of **Labrador West** at Gallery 201, 201 Humber Avenue, Labrador City;

For the District of **Lake Melville** at Labradorian Printers, 174 Hamilton River Road, Happy Valley-Goose Bay;

For the District of **Lewisporte - Twillingate** at the Twillingate NWI Dinner Theatre, 115 Main Street, Twillingate;

For the District of **Mount Pearl - Southlands** at 75 Barbour Drive, Mount Pearl;

For the District **of Mount Pearl North** at the First United Church, 221 Park Avenue, Mount Pearl;

For the District of Mount Scio at the Viking Building, 136 Crosbie Road, St. John's;

For the District of **Placentia - St. Mary's** at the Placentia Area Development Building, 16 Prince William Drive, Placentia;

For the District of **Placentia West - Bellevue** at the Community Centre (Basement), 16 Woody Island Road, North Harbour;

For the District of **St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows** at the Sweet Occasions Building, 2 North Street, St. Anthony;

For the District of **St. George's - Humber** at Siki Bennett Memorial Stadium, 13 Diamond Court, St. George's;

For the District of **St. John's Centre** at the West Empire Plaza, 391 Empire Avenue, St. John's;

For the District of **St. John's East - Quidi Vidi** at The Hub, 21 Merrymeeting Road, St. John's;

For the District of St. John's West at Alpha Business Offices, 510 Topsail Road, St. John's;

For the District of **Stephenville - Port au Port** at Stephenville Airport, 13 Tennessee Drive, Stephenville;

For the District of Terra Nova at the Goobie Building, 8 Myers Avenue, Clarenville;

For the District of **Topsail - Paradise** at the Lodge Conception Masonic Hall, 2639 Topsail Road, Conception Bay South;

For the District **of Torngat Mountains** at the Strathcona Building, 10 Riches Seashore Drive, Rigolet;

For the District of **Virginia Waters - Pleasantville** at Bally Rou Place, 370 Torbay Road, St. John's;

For the District of **Waterford Valley** at Corpus Christi Parish Hall, 260 Waterford Bridge Road, St. John's; and

For the District of **Windsor Lake** at Unit #2, 25 Hebron Way, St. John's;

- That the day of polling in each Electoral District is Saturday, the 13th day of February, 2021;
- 4. That a Writ of Election for the said Election be issued for each Electoral District in the Province; and
- 5. <u>That</u> the Writ of Election for each Electoral District shall be issued on Friday, the 15th day of January 2021, and be returnable at the time and in the manner prescribed by Division E of the Act, together with the return of the person to whom the writ is directed endorsed thereon, and all other documents and other things required to be transmitted to the Chief Electoral Officer by virtue thereof.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF we have caused the Great Seal of Newfoundland and Labrador to be hereunto affixed.

WITNESS: Our trusty and well-beloved the Honourable Deborah E. Fry, Chief Justice of Newfoundland and Labrador, Court of Appeal, Administrator in and for Our Province of Newfoundland and Labrador.

AT OUR GOVERNMENT HOUSE in Our City of St. John's this 15th day of January in the year of Our Lord two thousand and twenty-one, in the sixty-ninth year of Our Reign.

BY COMMAND,

SEAN DUTTON Deputy Registrar General