

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Government Services Committee

Date: April 26, 2023

Location: House of Assembly Chamber

Time: 5:30 p.m.

Committee Members Present:

Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank (Chair)

Helen Conway Ottenheimer, Harbour Main (substituting for Loyola O'Driscoll, Ferryland, Vice-Chair)

Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay

Andrew Parsons, Burgeo La Poile (substituting for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North)

Derrick Bragg, Fogo Island - Cape Freels (substituting for Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber)

Chris Tibbs, Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans

Lela Evans, Torngat Mountains (substituting for Jordan Brown, Labrador West)

Other:

Jim Locke, Government Members' Caucus Bradley Russell, Official Opposition Caucus Scott Fleming, Third Party Caucus

House of Assembly Service:

Bobbi Russell, Clerk of Committee (A)

Witnesses Appearing:

Department of Labrador Affairs

Lisa Dempster, Minister

Tracy King, Deputy Minister

Sheree Snow, Assistant Deputy Minister, Medical Transportation Assistance Program

Michelle Watkins, Assistant Deputy Minister, Labrador Affairs

Wanda Trickett, Department Controller

Allison Corcoran, Manager of Finance

Allan Bock, Director of Communications

Nicole Kieley, Executive Assistant

The meeting was called to order at 5:34 p.m.

On motion, the Minutes of April 25, 2023 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Labrador Affairs.

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 7:49 p.m. to Friday, April 28, 2023 at 9 a.m. to review the Estimates of the Department of Finance, Consolidated Fund Services and the Public Service Commission.

Paul Pike

Chair

Bobbi Russell

Clerk of Committee (A)