

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Government Services Committee

Date: April 28, 2023 Location: House of Assembly Chamber Time: 9 a.m.

Committee Members Present:

Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank (Chair)

David Brazil, Conception Bay East - Bell Island (substituting for Loyola O'Driscoll, Ferryland, Vice-Chair)

Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis (substituting for Chris Tibbs, Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans) Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North

Derrick Bragg, Fogo Island - Cape Freels (substituting for Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay for part of meeting)

Krista Lynn Howell, St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows (substituting for Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay for part of meeting)

John Abbott, St. John's East - Quidi Vidi (substituting for Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber) Lela Evans, Torngat Mountains (substituting for Jordan Brown, Labrador West)

Bernard Davis, Virginia Waters - Pleasantville (substituting for Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay for part of meeting)

Other:

Annie McCarthy, Government Members' Caucus (for part of meeting) Christine Baldwin, Government Members' Caucus (for part of meeting) Megan Winter, Official Opposition Caucus Steven Kent, Third Party Caucus

House of Assembly Service: Mark Jerrett, Policy, Clerk of Committee (A)

Witnesses Appearing:

Department of Finance/Consolidated Fund Services Siobhan Coady, Minister Julie Moore, Comptroller General Michelle Jewer, Deputy Minister Elizabeth Lane, Secretary to Treasury Board David Drover, Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Planning & Benefits Doug Trask, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economics & Statistics/Tax & Fiscal Policy Tom Nemec, Director of Treasury Management Wanda Trickett, Departmental Controller Jim Doody, Director, Human Resource Secretariat Service Centre Diana Quinton, Director of Communications Keith White, Executive Assistant

Public Service Commission Siobhan Coady, Minister George Joyce, Chair & CEO Tina Follett, Commissioner Wanda Trickett, Departmental Controller Mike Smyth, Manager of Accountability & Certification Diana Quinton, Director of Communications Keith White, Executive Assistant

The meeting was called to order at 9 a.m.

On motion, the Minutes of April 26, 2023 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 10:26 a.m. and resumed at 10:36 a.m.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Finance, the Public Service Commission and Consolidated Fund Services.

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 12:09 p.m. to Tuesday, May 2, 2023 at 9 a.m. to consider the Estimates of the Department of Transportation and Infrastructure and the Public Procurement Agency.

Paul Pike

Chair **é**tt

Clerk of Committee (A)