

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Government Services Committee

Date: May 2, 2023

Location: House of Assembly Chamber

Time: 9 a.m.

Committee Members Present:

Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank (Chair) Loyola O'Driscoll, Ferryland (Vice-Chair)

Steve Crocker, Carbonear - Trinity - Bay de Verde (substituting for Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green

Bay)

Jordan Brown, Labrador West

Krista Lynn Howell, St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows (substituting for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North

for part of meeting)

Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber

Regrets:

Chris Tibbs, Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans

Other:

Annie McCarthy, Government Members' Office Darrell Hynes, Official Opposition Office Scott Fleming, Third Party Caucus Office

House of Assembly Service:

Evan Beazley, Clerk of Committee (A)

Witnesses Appearing:

Department of Transportation and Infrastructure

Elvis Loveless, Minister

Cory Grandy, Deputy Minister

Dan Mackenzie, Associate Deputy Minister

John Baker, Assistant Deputy Minister, Air and Marine Services

Greg Clarke, Assistant Deputy Minister, Infrastructure

Justin Garrett, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic and Corporate Services

Dan Michielsen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Roads

Keith Maynard, Departmental Controller

Melony O'Neill, Director of Communications

Greg Butler, Budget Manager

Margot Pitcher, Executive Assistant

Public Procurement Agency

Elvis Loveless, Minister
Heather Tizzard, Chief Procurement Officer

The meeting was called to order at 9 a.m.

On motion, the Minutes of April 28, 2023 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 10:11 a.m. and resumed at 10:23 a.m.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Transportation and Infrastructure and the Public Procurement Agency.

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 11:42 a.m. to the call of the Chair.

Paul Pike Chair

Evan Beazley

Clerk of Committee (A)