

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Government Services Committee

Date: April 16, 2024

Location: House of Assembly Chamber

Time: 9 a.m.

Committee Members Present:

Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North (Chair)

Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank (substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for

Placentia - St. Mary's)

Elvis Loveless, Member for Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune (substituted for Perry Trimper, Member for

Lake Melville)

Jordan Brown, Member for Labrador West (substituted for Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains) Tony Wakeham, Member for Stephenville - Port au Port (substituted for Loyola O' Driscoll, Member for Ferryland)

Bernard Davis, Member for Virginia Waters - Pleasantville (substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St.

George's - Humber)

Regrets:

Joedy Wall, Member for Cape St. Francis

Other:

Dave Hamlyn, Government Members' Caucus Denise Tubrett, Official Opposition Caucus Colby Greeley, Official Opposition Caucus Steven Kent, Third Party Caucus

House of Assembly Service:

Evan Beazley, Clerk of Committee (A)

Witnesses Appearing:

Department of Finance/Consolidated Fund Services

Siobhan Coady, Minister

Michelle Jewer, Deputy Minister

David Drover, Assistant Deputy Minister, Treasury Management and Budgeting

Doug Trask, Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Planning and Benefits

Julia Moore, Comptroller General

Elizabeth Lane, Secretary to Treasury Board

Nichole Abbott, Departmental Coordinator

Tom Nemec, Director of Treasury Management

Jim Doody, Director of HRS Service Centre Diana Quinton, Director of Communications

Public Service Commission

Siobhan Coady, Minister
George Joyce, Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Public Service Commission
Tina Follett, Commissioner, Public Service Commission
Nichole Abbott, Departmental Coordinator
Mike Smyth, Manager of Accountability
Diana Quinton, Director of Communications

The meeting was called to order at 9:02 a.m.

On motion, the Member for Mount Pearl North was acclaimed Chair.

The Committee agreed to allow unaffiliated Members present to participate in the proceedings in the following manner: 10 minutes per Member at the end of the head of expenditure.

On motion, the Minutes of May 2, 2023 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 9:44 a.m. and resumed at 9:48 a.m.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 10:34 a.m. and resumed at 10:46 a.m.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Finance, the Public Service Commission and Consolidated Fund Services.

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 11:03 a.m. to Thursday, April 18 at 6 p.m. to review the Estimates of the Department of Labrador Affairs.

Lucy Stoyles, MHA Chair

Evan Beazlev

Clerk of Committee (A)