

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Government Services Committee

Date: April 18, 2024 Location: House of Assembly Chamber Time: 6 p.m.

Committee Members Present:

Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North (Chair) Loyola O' Driscoll, Member for Ferryland (Vice-Chair) Steve Crocker, Member for Carbonear - Trinity - Bay de Verde (substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber) Gerry Byrne, Member for Corner Brook (substituted for Perry Trimper, Member for Lake Melville) Krista Lynn Howell, Member for St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows (substituted for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's) Lloyd Parrott, Member for Terra Nova (substituted for Joedy Wall, Member for Cape St. Francis) Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains

Other:

Colby Greeley, Official Opposition Caucus Steven Kent, Third Party Caucus Annie McCarthy, Government Members' Caucus

House of Assembly Service: Kimberley Hammond, Clerk of Committee (A)

Witnesses Appearing:

Department of Labrador Affairs Lisa Dempster, Minister Jason Higgins, Deputy Minister Sheree Snow, Assistant Deputy Minister, Medical Transportation Assistance Program Michelle Watkins, Assistant Deputy Minister, Labrador Affairs Nicole Abbott, Departmental Controller Trevor Miller, Manager of Finance Allan Bock, Director of Communications Kelly White, Executive Assistant

The meeting was called to order at 6:04 p.m.

On motion, the Member for Ferryland was acclaimed Vice-Chair.

The Committee agreed to allow unaffiliated Members present to participate in the proceedings in the following manner: 10 minutes per Member at the end of the head of expenditure.

On motion, the Minutes of April 16, 2024 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Labrador Affairs.

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 7:52 p.m. to Friday, April 19 at 1 p.m. to review the Estimates of the Department of Digital Government and Service NL.

Lucy Stoyles, MHA Chair

~

Kimberley Hammond Clerk of Committee (A)