MINUTES

Government Services Committee Meeting #1 - June 4, 2021

- 1. Purusant to motion, and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Committee met at 9:00 a.m. in the Assembly Chamber.
- 2. Present from the Committee were:

Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay

Craig Pardy, Bonavista substituting for Loyola O'Driscoll, Ferryland

Jordan Brown, Labrador West

Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North

Tony Wakeham, Stephenville – Port au Port substituting for Lela Evans, Torngat Mountains

Hon. Tom Osborne, Waterford Valley substituting for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank

Hon. John Hogan, Winsor Lake substituting for Scott Reid, St. George's -Humber

Also present:

Steven Kent, Researcher, Third Party

Megan Winter, Researcher, Official Opposition

3. Appearing from the **Public Service Commission** were:

Hon. Siobhan Coady, St. John's West

George Joyce, Chair/Chief Executive Officer (A)

Diana Quinton, Director of Communications

Robert Simmons, Commissioner

Mike Smyth, Manager of Accountability and Certification

Wanda Trickett, Departmental Controller

Keith White. Executive Assistant

Appearing from the **Department of Finance** were:

Hon. Siobhan Coady, St. John's West

Theresa Heffernan, Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Planning & Benefits Admin.

Michelle Jewer, Secretary to Treasury Board

Tom Nemec, Manager of Capital Markets & Financial Assistance

Diana Quinton, Director of Communications

Paul Smith, Deputy Minister

Doug Trask, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic, Fiscal & Statistics

Wanda Trickett, Departmental Controller

Keith White, Executive Assistant

- 4. On motion of MHA Stoyles, MHA Warr was acclaimed Chair, *pro tem*.
- 5. The election of Vice-Chair was deferred to a subsequent meeting of the Committee.

- 6. The Committee reviewed and passed without amendment the Estimates of the Department of Finance, Public Service Commission and Consolidated Fund Services.
- 7. On motion of MHA Stoyles, the Committee adjourned at 11:48 a.m. to Monday, June 7, 2021 at 6:00 p.m. (Department of Transportation and Infrastructure and Public Procurement Agency).

Kim Hawley George Acting Clerk