

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Government Services Committee

Date: May 5, 2022 Location: House of Assembly Chamber Time: 5:30 p.m.

Committee Members Present:

Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank (Chair) Loyola O'Driscoll, Ferryland (Vice-Chair) John Abbott, St. John's East - Quidi Vidi (substituting for Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay) Barry Petten, Conception Bay South (substituting for Chris Tibbs, Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans) Jordan Brown, Labrador West Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North Andrew Parsons, Burgeo - La Poile (substituting for Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber)

Other:

Perry Trimper, Lake Melville Dave Hamlyn, Government Members' Caucus Office Darrell Hynes, Official Opposition Caucus Office Stephen Kent, Third Party Caucus Office Jess Puddester, Third Party Caucus Office

House of Assembly Service: Bobbi Russell, Clerk of Committee (A)

Witnesses Appearing:

Department of Transportation and Infrastructure and Public Procedure Agency Elvis Loveless, Minister Cory Grandy, Deputy Minister Heather Tizzard, Chief Procurement Officer Greg Clarke, Assistant Deputy Minister, Infrastructure Stephen Burbridge, Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations John Baker, Assistant Deputy Minister, Air & Marine Services Dan Michielsen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic & Corporate Services Patrick Morrissey, Departmental Controller Brian Scott, Director of Communications Greg Butler, Budget Manager Margot Pitcher, Executive Assistant to Minister

The meeting was called to order at 5:33 p.m.

The Committee agreed to allow unaffiliated Members present to participate in the proceedings in the following manner: 10 minutes at the end of each Heads of Expenditure.

On motion, the Minutes of April 11, 2022 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 8:18 p.m. and resumed at 8:28 p.m.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Transportation and Infrastructure and the Public Procurement Agency.

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 9:08 p.m. to Friday, May 6 at 1 p.m. to review the Estimates of Digital Government and Service NL.

Paul Pike Chair

Bobbi Russell Clerk of Committee (A)

Markov for Bobbi Russell