MINUTES

Government Services Committee Meeting #2 - June 7, 2021

1. Pursuant to motion, and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Committee met at 6:02 p.m. in the Assembly Chamber.

2. Present from the Committee were:

Hon. Andrew Parsons, Burgeo - La Poile substituting for Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber

Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank

Barry Petten, Conception Bay South substituting for Loyola O'Driscoll, Ferryland

Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North

Jordan Brown, Labrador West

Hon. John Abbott, St. John's East - Quidi Vidi substituting for Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay

Tony Wakeham, Stephenville - Port au Port substituting for Lela Evans, Torngat Mountains

Also present:

Hon. Gerry Byrne, Corner Brook
Perry Trimper, Lake Melville
Adam Coombs, Researcher, Third Party
Darrell Hynes, Director of Legislation and Policy Affairs, Official Opposition
Carlson Young, Researcher, Official Opposition

3. Appearing from the **Public Procurement Agency** were:

Hon. Elvis Loveless, Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune Heather Tizzard, Chief Procurement Officer

Appearing from the **Department of Transportation and Infrastructure** were:

Hon. Elvis Loveless, Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune

John Baker, Assistant Deputy Minister, Marine and Air Services

Greg Butler, Budget Manager

Greg Clarke, Assistant Deputy Minister, Infrastructure

Joe Dunford, Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations

Tracy English, Assistant Deputy Minster, Strategic Corporate Services

Cory Grandy, Deputy Minister

Patrick Morrissey, Departmental Controller

Brian Scott, Director of Communications

4. On motion of MHA A. Parsons, MHA Pike was acclaimed Chair.

- 5. On motion of MHA Wakeham, MHA O'Driscoll was acclaimed Vice-Chair in absentia.
- 6. The Committee agreed to allow independent MHAs to participate in the proceedings in the following manner: question time would alternate between the Official Opposition and the New Democratic Party for two turns each and then an independent MHA would be allowed to have a 10 minute turn. In total, 20 minutes was allocated to questions from independent Members.
- 7. On motion of MHA Brown, the Minutes of the meeting of June 4, 2021 (Department of Finance, Public Service Commission and Consolidated Fund Services) were adopted.
- 8. The Committee recessed at 7:52 p.m. and resumed proceedings at 7:59 p.m.
- 8. The Committee reviewed and passed without amendment the Estimates of the Public Procurement Agency and the Department of Transportation and Infrastructure.
- 9. On motion of MHA Wakeham, the Committee adjourned at 9:11 p.m. to Monday, June 10, 2021 at 9:00 a.m. (Department of Digital Government and Service Newfoundland and Labrador).

Sandra Barnes Clerk