

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

## Minutes of the House of Assembly Resource Committee

**Date:** May 3, 2022 **Location:** House of Assembly Chamber **Time:** 9 a.m.

# **Committee Members Present:**

Brian Warr – Baie Verte - Green Bay (Chair) Lela Evans – Torngat Mountains (substituting for Jordan Brown – Labrador West (Vice-Chair)) John Hogan – Windsor Lake (substituting for Sherry Gambin-Walsh – Placentia - St. Mary's) Sarah Stoodley – Mount Scio (substituting for Paul Pike – Burin - Grand Bank) Lisa Dempster – Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair (substituting for Lucy Stoyles – Mount Pearl North) Craig Pardy – Bonavista Pleaman Forsey - Exploits

## Other:

### Members of the House of Assembly

Perry Trimper – Lake Melville Scott Fleming – Researcher, Third Party David Porter – Communications Specialist, Official Opposition Office Nathan Ryan – Political Staff, Official Opposition Office Sonja Pritchett – Researcher Coordinator, Government Members' Office

## House of Assembly Service:

Evan Beazley, Clerk of Committee (A)

#### Witnesses Appearing:

Department of Fisheries, Forestry and Agriculture Derrick Bragg, Minister Tracy King, Deputy Minister Stephen Balsom, Assistant Deputy Minister, Forestry and Wildlife Lorelei Roberts, Assistant Deputy Minister, Fisheries and Aquaculture Philip Ivimey, Controller Erin Shea, Director of Communications Dana English, Executive Assistant to Minister

The meeting was called to order at 9 a.m.

The Committee agreed to allow unaffiliated Members present to participate in the proceedings in the following manner: 10 minutes at the end of the Heads of Expenditure.

On motion, the Minutes of April 12, 2022 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 10:42 a.m. and resumed at 10:50 a.m.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Fisheries, Forestry and Agriculture.

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 12:05 p.m. to Monday, May 5 at 9 a.m. to review the Estimates of the Department of Environment and Climate Change.

Brian Warr Chair

Evan Beazley Clerk of Committee (A)