

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Resource Committee

Date: April 4, 2023 Location: House of Assembly Chamber Time: 9 a.m.

Committee Members Present:

Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay (Chair) Jordan Brown, Labrador West (Vice-Chair) Barry Petten, Conception Bay South (substituting for Craig Pardy, Bonavista) Pleaman Forsey, Exploits Elvis Loveless, Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune (substituting for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank) Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North Sarah Stoodley, Mount Scio (substituting for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's)

Other:

Christine Baldwin, Government Members' Caucus Annie McCarthy, Government Members' Caucus Megan Winter, Official Opposition Caucus Steven Kent, Third Party Caucus

House of Assembly Service: Evan Beazley, Clerk of Committee (A)

Witnesses Appearing: Department of Industry, Energy and Technology Andrew Parsons, Minister John Cowan, Deputy Minister Craig Martin, Associate Deputy Minister Jason Higgins, Assistant Deputy Minister, Industry & Economic Development Julian Ludmer, Assistant Deputy Minister, Business and Innovation Megan Nesbitt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Strategic Services Alex Smith, Assistant Deputy Minister, Mineral Development Philip Ivimey, Departmental Controller Nena Abundo, Executive Director, Oil & Gas Paul Carter, Executive Director, Renewable Energy Tansy Mundon, Director of Communications Michael King, Executive Assistant The meeting was called to order at 9 a.m.

On motion, the Minutes of April 3, 2023 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 10:19 a.m. and resumed at 10:28 a.m.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Industry, Energy and Technology.

÷

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 10:56 a.m. to the call of the Chair.

Brian Warr Chair

4

۸.

Evan Beazley Clerk of Committee (A)