MINUTES Resource Committee Meeting #1 - May 31, 2021

- 1. Pursuant to motion, and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Committee met at 5:00 p.m. in the Assembly Chamber.
- 2. Present from the Committee were:

Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay, Chair

Craig Pardy, Bonavista

Hon. Lisa Dempster, Cartwright-L'Anse au Clair substituting for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank

Pleaman Forsey, Exploits

Hon. Elvis Loveless, Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune substituting for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's

Hon. John Haggie, Gander substituting for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North

Jordan Brown, Labrador West, Vice-Chair

Also present: Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis

Loyola O'Driscoll, Ferryland Perry Trimper, Lake Melville

Paul Lane, Mount Pearl-Southlands Lela Evans, Torngat Mountains

Steven Kent, Political Researcher, Third Party

Glenn Littlejohn, Political Researcher, Official Opposition

3. Appearing from the **Department of Tourism**, **Culture**, **Arts and Recreation** were:

Hon. Steve Crocker, Carbonear- Trinity-Bay de Verde Jamie Chippett, Deputy Minister Judith Hearn, Assistant Deputy Minister, Tourism and Culture

Debbie Marnell, Director of Communications

Bonnie Steele, Departmental Controller

- 4. On motion of MHA Pardy, MHA Warr was acclaimed Chair.
- 5. On motion of MHA Pardy, MHA Brown was acclaimed Vice-Chair.
- 6. The Committee agreed to allow independent MHAs to participate in the proceedings in the following manner: question time would alternate between the Official Opposition and the New Democratic Party for two turns each and then an independent MHA would be

allowed to have a 10 minute turn. In total, 20 minutes was allocated to questions from independent Members.

- 7. The Committee recessed at 6:29 p.m. and resumed proceedings at 6:41 p.m.
- 8. The Committee reviewed and passed without amendment the Estimates of the Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts and Recreation.
- 9. On motion of MHA Haggie, the Committee adjourned at 8:02 p.m. to Tuesday, June 1, 2021 at 6:00 p.m. (Department of Industry, Energy and Technology).

Kim Hawley George Acting Clerk