

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Resource Committee

Date: May 9, 2022 Location: House of Assembly Chamber Time: 9 a.m.

Committee Members Present:

Lucy Stoyles – Mount Pearl North, Chair (A)

John Abbott, Member for St. John's East - Quidi Vidi (substituting for Brian Warr, Member Baie Verte - Green Bay)

James Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre (substituting for Jordan Brown, Member for Labrador West, Vice-chair)

Craig Pardy, Member for Bonavista

Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber (substituting for Paul Pike, Member for Burin - Grand Bank) (via videoconference)

Chris Tibbs, Member for Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans (substituting for Pleaman Forsey, Member for Exploits)

John Haggie, Member for Gander (substituting for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's)

Other:

Dave Hamlyn, Government Members' Caucus Office Stephen Kent, Third Party Caucus Office Bradley Russell, Official Opposition Caucus Office

House of Assembly Service:

Bobbi Russell, Clerk of Committee (A) Mark Jerrett, Policy, Planning and Research Analyst

Witnesses Appearing:

Department of Immigration, Population Growth and Skills Gerry Byrne, Minister Katie Norman, Assistant Deputy Minister, Immigration and Population Growth Debbie Dunphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services and Policy Heather Craniford, Director, Employment & Training John Tompkins, Director of Communications Steve French, Department Controller

The meeting was called to order at 9:07 a.m.

The Committee agreed to allow unaffiliated Members present to participate in the proceedings in the following manner: 10 minutes each at the end of the head of expenditure.

On motion, the Minutes of May 5, 2022 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 10:16 a.m. and resumed at 10:22 a.m.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Immigration, Population Growth and Skills.

7

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 10:17 a.m. to the call of the Chair.

Lucy Stoyles Chair (A) ussell Bobbi Russell

Clerk of Committee (A)

•2

•