

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Resource Committee

Date: April 3, 2023

Location: House of Assembly Chamber

Time: 6 p.m.

Committee Members Present:

Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay (Chair)
Jim Dinn, St. John's Centre (substituting for Jordan Brown, Labrador West, Vice-Chair)
Craig Pardy, Bonavista
Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis (substituting for Pleaman Forsey, Exploits)
John Haggie, Gander (substituting for Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's)
Krista Lynn Howell, St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows (substituting for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North)
John Hogan, Windsor Lake (substituting for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank)

Other:

Paul Dinn, Topsail - Paradise David Hamlyn, Government Members' Caucus David Porter, Official Opposition Caucus Steven Kent, Third Party Caucus

House of Assembly Service:

Kimberley Hammond, Clerk of Committee (A)

Witnesses Appearing:

Department of Immigration, Population Growth and Skills

Gerry Byrne, Minister

Karen Stone, K.C., Deputy Minister

Seamus Breen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services and Policy

Sharlene Jones, Assistant Deputy Minister, Employment and Labour Market Development

Katie Norman, Assistant Deputy Minister, Immigration and Population Growth

Steve French, Departmental Controller

John Tompkins, Director of Communications

Kerry Chaytor, Executive Assistant

The meeting was called to order at 6:03 p.m.

The Committee agreed to allow Members present who were not members of the Resource Committee to participate in the proceedings in the following manner: 10 minutes each at the end of the head of expenditure.

On motion, the Minutes of March 23, 2023 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 7:31 p.m. and resumed at 7:43 p.m.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Immigration, Population Growth and Skills.

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 8:12 p.m. to Tuesday, April 4, 2023 at 9 a.m. to review the Estimates of the Department of Industry, Energy and Technology.

Brian Warr Chair

Kimberley Hammond Clerk of Committee (A)