## MINUTES Social Services Committee Meeting #2 – June 2, 2021

- 1. Pursuant to motion, and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Committee met at 5:30 p.m. in the Assembly Chamber.
- 2. Present from the Committee were:

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's, Chair Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis, Vice-Chair Hon. Pam Parsons, Harbour Grace - Port de Grave substituting for Paul Pike, Burin -Grand Bank Jeff Dwyer, Placentia West - Bellevue Jim Dinn, St. John's Centre Hon. Siobhan Coady, St. John's West substituting for Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber Hon. Bernard Davis, Virginia Waters - Pleasantville substituting for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North

Also present: Paul Lane, Mount Pearl - Southlands Perry Trimper, Lake Melville Carlson Young, Researcher, Official Opposition Caucus Scott Fleming, Researcher, Third Party Caucus Susan Walsh, Constituency Assistant to MHA for St. John's Centre

## 3. Appearing from the Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation (NLHC) and Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development and were:

## NLHC

Hon. John Abbott, St. John's East - Quidi Vidi Doug Jackman, Director of Finance Julia Mullaley, CEO Melanie Thomas, Director of Policy, Housing and Homelessness Mike Tizzard, Executive Director, Finance and Corporate Services

## Department of Children, Seniors & Social Development

Hon. John Abbott, St. John's East - Quidi Vidi Cynthia King, Director of Income Support Policy and Programs Sharlene Jones, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services & Performance Improvement Susan Walsh, Deputy Minister

- 5. The Committee recessed at 6:56 p.m. and resumed proceedings at 7:14 p.m.
- 6. The Committee reviewed and passed without amendment the Estimates of the Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development and Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation.
- 7. On motion of MHA Wall, the Minutes of the meeting of June 1, 2021 (Department of Justice and Public Safety) were adopted as circulated.
- 8. On motion of MHA Dwyer, the Committee adjourned at 9:22 p.m. to Thursday, June 3, 2021 at 6:00 p.m. (Department of Education).

**Bobbi Russell** Acting Clerk