## MINUTES Social Services Committee Meeting #3 – June 3, 2021

- 1. Pursuant to motion, and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Committee met at 6:04 p.m. in the Assembly Chamber.
- 2. Present from the Committee were:

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's, Chair

Barry Petten, Conception Bay South substituting for Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis

Hon. Gerry Byrne, Corner Brook substituting for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank

Hon. Derrick Bragg, Fogo Island - Cape Freels substituting for Lucy Stoyles, Mount

Pearl North

Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber

Jim Dinn, St. John's Centre

Also present:

Perry Trimper, Lake Melville

Scott Fleming, Researcher, Third Party Caucus

Darrell Hynes, Director of Legislation and Policy Affairs, Official Opposition Office

3. Appearing from the **Department of Education** were:

Hon. Tom Osborne, Waterford Valley

Eldred Barnes, Associate Deputy Minister

Brad Clarke, Director, Programs and Services

Candice Ennis-Williams, Assistant Deputy Minister, Post Secondary Education

Rob Feaver, Director, Student Financial Services

Mary Goss-Prowse, Director, Early Learning and Child Development

Robyn Hayes, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services

Greg O'Leary, Deputy Minister

Tracy Stamp, Departmental Controller

- 4. On motion of MHA Petten, the Minutes of the meeting of June 2, 2021 (Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development and Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation) were adopted as circulated.
- 5. The Committee agreed to allow independent MHAs to participate in the proceedings in the following manner: question time would alternate between the Official Opposition and the New Democratic Party for two turns each and then an independent MHA would be allowed to have a 10 minute turn. In total, 20 minutes was allocated to questions from independent Members.

- 7. The Committee reviewed and passed without amendment the Estimates of the Department of Education.
- 8. On motion of MHA Petten the Committee adjourned at 9:11 p.m. to Monday, June 7, 2021 at 9:00 a.m. (Department of Municipal and Provincial Affairs).

**Kimberley Hammond** Acting Clerk