

#### House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

# Minutes of the House of Assembly Social Services Committee

Date: April 8, 2022

Location: House of Assembly Chamber

Time: 9 a.m.

## **Committee Members Present:**

Sherry Gambin-Walsh - Placentia - St. Mary's (Chair)

Joedy Wall - Cape St. Francis (Vice-Chair)

Derrick Bragg - Fogo Island - Cape Freels (substituting for Paul Pike - Burin - Grand Bank)

Helen Conway Ottenheimer - Harbour Main (substituting for Jeff Dwyer - Placentia West - Bellevue)

Sarah Stoodley - Mount Scio (substituting for Scott Reid - St. George's - Humber)

Lucy Stoyles - Mount Pearl North

Lela Evans – Torngat Mountains (substituting for James Dinn – St. John's Centre)

#### Other:

Scott Fleming, Researcher, Third Party
Megan Winter, Research Policy Analyst, Official Opposition
Ben Pollard, Political Assistant, Government Members' Office
David Hamlyn, Shared Sessional Assistant, Government Members' Office

### **House of Assembly Service:**

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of Committee Evan Beazley, Committee Clerk (A)

#### Witnesses Appearing:

#### **Department of Justice and Public Safety**

John Hogan, Minister & Attorney General

Denis Mahoney, Deputy Minister & Deputy Attorney General

Heather Jacobs, Special Advisor

Denise Woodrow, Assistant Deputy Minister, Legal Services

Gerrie Smith, Assistant Deputy Minister, Public Safety & Correctional Services

Dan Chafe, Superintendent of Prisons

Susan Foss, Registrar, Supreme Court of NL

Kim Harding, Executive Director, Support Services, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary

Lloyd Strickland, Director of Public Prosecutions

Kellee Martin, Director of Policy and Strategic Planning

Lesley Clarke, Director of Communications

Kerry Sears, Manager of Equipment, Training & Organizational Development, Office of the High Sheriff

Sharleen Simmons, Strategic Policy Analyst - RCMP

Andrew Green, Departmental Controller

Tom Hayward, Manager of Budgeting

Emily-Jane Gillingham, Media Relations Manager

Glenda Hearn-Ellis, Executive Assistant to Minister

The meeting was called to order at 9:02 a.m.

On motion, the Minutes of June 8, 2021 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 10:18 a.m. and resumed at 10:32 a.m.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 11:10 a.m. and resumed at 11:16 a.m.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Justice and Public Safety.

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 11:37 a.m. to Tuesday, April 12 at 6 p.m. to review the Estimates of the Department of Municipal and Provincial Affairs.

Sherry Gambin-Walsh

201

Sandra Barnes

Clerk

Chair-