

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Social Services Committee

Date: April 12, 2022

Location: House of Assembly Chamber

Time: 6 p.m.

Committee Members Present:

Sherry Gambin-Walsh – Placentia - St. Mary's (Chair)
Joedy Wall – Cape St. Francis (Vice-Chair)
Derrick Bragg – Fogo Island - Cape Freels (substituting for Paul Pike – Burin - Grand Bank)
Brian Warr – Baie Verte - Green Bay (substituting for Lucy Stoyles – Mount Pearl North)
John Hogan – Windsor Lake (substituting for Scott Reid – St. George's - Humber)
Lela Evans – Torngat Mountains (substituting for James Dinn – St. John's Centre)

Other:

Scott Fleming, Third Party Caucus Office Darrell Hynes, Official Opposition Office Ben Pollard, Government Members' Office Jess Puddester, Third Party Caucus Office

House of Assembly Service:

Bobbi Russell, Clerk of Committee (A)

Witnesses Appearing:

Department of Municipal & Provincial Affairs

Krista Lynn Howell, Minister Ted Lomond, Deputy Minister Bren Hanlon, Assistant Deputy Minister, Municipal Affairs Bonnie Steele, Departmental Controller Jacqueline Howard, Director of Communications Randy Simms, Executive Assistant to Minister

The meeting was called to order at 6 p.m.

On motion, the Minutes of April 8, 2022 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Municipal and Provincial Affairs.

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 7:08 p.m. to Wednesday, April 13 at 5:30 p.m. to review the Estimates of the Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development and the Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation.

Sherry Gambin-Walsh

Chair

Bobbi Russell

Clerk of Committee 17