MINUTES Social Services Committee Meeting #1 - June 1, 2021

1. Pursuant to motion, and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Committee met at 9:07 a.m. in the Assembly Chamber.

2. Present from the Committee were:

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's, Chair

Hon. Andrew Parsons, Burgeo - La Poile substituting for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North

Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis, Vice-Chair

Hon. Steve Crocker, Carbonear - Trinity - Bay de Verde substituting for Scott Reid, St. Georges-Humber

Hon. Derrick Bragg, Fogo Island - Cape Freels substituting for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank

Helen Conway Ottenheimer, Harbour Main substituting for Jeff Dwyer, Placentia West - Bellevue

Jim Dinn, St. John's Centre

Also present: Perry Trimper, Lake Melville

Paul Lane, Mount Pearl - Southlands Scott Fleming, Researcher, NDP Office

Megan Winter, Research Policy Analyst, Official Opposition Office

3. Appearing from the **Department of Justice and Public Safety** were:

Hon. John Hogan, Windsor Lake

Danielle Barron, Director of Communications

Chief Joe Boland, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary

Andrew Green, Departmental Controller

Tom Hayward, Manager of Budgeting

Tara Kelly, Assistant Deputy Minister – Public Safety and Emergency Services

Philip Osborne, Assistant Deputy Minister (A) – Legal Services

Jennifer Mercer, Deputy Minister and Deputy Attorney General

Denise Woodrow, Assistant Deputy Minister (A) – Corrections and Community Services

Lloyd Strickland, Director – Public Prosecutions

Joanne Turner, Director – Provincial Court Services

Donna Ballard, Assistant Deputy Minister, Courts and Corporate Services

4. On motion of MHA Bragg, MHA Gambin-Walsh was acclaimed Chair.

- 5. On motion of MHA Conway Ottenheimer, MHA Wall was acclaimed Vice-Chair.
- 6. The Committee agreed to allow independent MHAs to participate in the proceedings in the following manner: question time would alternate between the Official Opposition and the New Democratic Party for two turns each and then an independent MHA would be allowed to have a 10 minute turn. In total, 20 minutes was allocated to questions from independent Members.
- 7. The Committee recessed at 10:27 a.m. and resumed proceedings at 10:38 a.m.
- 8. The Committee reviewed and passed without amendment the Estimates of the Department of Justice and Public Safety.
- 9. On motion of MHA Conway Ottenheimer the Committee adjourned at 12:04 p.m. to Wednesday, June 2, 2021 at 5:30 p.m. (Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development and NLHC).

Kimberley Hammond Acting Clerk