

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Social Services Committee

Date: May 6, 2022

Location: House of Assembly Chamber

Time: 9 a.m.

Committee Members Present:

Sherry Gambin-Walsh - Placentia - St. Mary's (Chair)
Joedy Wall - Cape St. Francis (Vice-Chair)
Bernard Davis - Virginia Waters - Pleasantville (substituting for Paul Pike - Burin - Grand Bank)
Lucy Stoyles - Mount Pearl North
Barry Petten - Conception Bay South (substituting for Jeff Dwyer - Placentia West - Bellevue)
Siobhan Coady - St. John's West (substituting for Scott Reid - St. George's - Humber)
James Dinn - St. John's Centre

Regrets:

Joedy Wall - Cape St. Francis (Vice-Chair)

Other

Scott Fleming, Third Party Office David Hamlyn, Government Members Office Darryl Hynes, Official Opposition Office

House of Assembly Service:

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of Committee

Witnesses Appearing: Department of Education

Hon. Tom Osborne, Minister Dr. Greg O'Leary, Deputy Minister Eldred Barnes, Associate Deputy Minister

Robyn Hayes, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services

Scott Linehan, Assistant Deputy Minister, K-12 and Early Childhood Learning

Brad Clarke, Director, Programs and Services Rob Feaver, Director, Student Financial Services

Mary Goss-Prowse, Director, Early Learning and Child Development

Regan Power, Director, Post-Secondary
Tracy Stamp, Departmental Coordinator
Marc Budgell, Director of Communications
Tina Lamb, Executive Assistant to the Minister

The meeting was called to order at 9:04 a.m.

On motion, the Minutes of May 2, 2022 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 10:33 a.m. and resumed at 10:47 a.m.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Education.

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 12:20 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Sherry Gambin-Walsh

Chair

Sandra Barnes

Clerk of Committee (A)