

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Social Services Committee

Date: April 6, 2023 Location: House of Assembly Chamber Time: 9 a.m.

Committee Members Present:

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's (Chair) Helen Conway Ottenheimer, Harbour Main (substituting for Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis, Vice-Chair) Chris Tibbs, Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans (substituting for Jeff Dwyer, Placentia West - Bellevue) Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North Sarah Stoodley, Mount Scio (substituting for Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber) Lela Evans, Torngat Mountains (substituting for James Dinn, St. John's Centre) Bernard Davis, Virginia Waters - Pleasantville (substituting for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank)

Other:

Annie McCarthy, Government Members' Caucus Megan Winter, Official Opposition Caucus Scott Fleming, Third Party Caucus

House of Assembly Service:

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of Committee (A)

Witnesses Appearing:

Department of Justice and Public Safety John Hogan, K.C., Minister and Attorney General Denis Mahoney, K.C., Deputy Minister and Deputy Attorney General Debbie Dunphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Emergency Services Mike Noseworthy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Courts and Corporate Services Gerrie Smith, Assistant Deputy Minister, Public Safety and Correctional Services Denise Woodrow, Assistant Deputy Minister, Legal Services Andrew Green, Departmental Controller Kellee Martin, Director, Policy and Strategic Planning Joanne Turner, Director, Provincial Court Services Lisa Stead, K.C., Assistant Director of Public Prosecutions (A) Pat Roche, Chief, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary Kim Harding, Executive Director, Support Services, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary Sharleen Simmons, Strategic Policy Analyst, Royal Canadian Mounted Police Mark Vardy, Manager of Financial Operations, HMP Shelley Organ, Chief Executive Officer, Supreme Court

Derek Peddle, High Sheriff, Office of the High Sheriff Danielle Barron, Director of Communications Lesley Clarke, Media Relations Manager Tom Hayward, Manager of Budgeting Glenda Hearn-Ellis, Executive Assistant

The meeting was called to order at 9:02 a.m.

The Committee agreed that should Members who were not part of the Committee attend they would participate in the proceedings in the following manner: Members in attendance who were not Committee Members could ask questions at the end of each sub-head.

On motion, the Minutes of April 5, 2023 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 10:32 a.m. and resumed at 10:45 a.m.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Justice and Public Safety.

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 11:48 a.m. to the call of the Chair.

Sherry Gambin-Walsh Chair

Anne

Sandra Barnes Clerk of Committee (A)