

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Social Services Committee

Date: May 3, 2023 Location: House of Assembly Chamber Time: 5:30 p.m.

Committee Members Present:

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Placentia - St. Mary's (Chair) Barry Petten, Conception Bay South (substituting for Jeff Dwyer, Placentia West – Bellevue) Gerry Byrne, Corner Brook (substituting for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank) Scott Reid, St. George's - Humber James Dinn, St. John's Centre Siobhan Coady, St. John's West (substituting for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North)

Regrets: Joedy Wall, Cape St. Francis (Vice-Chair)

Other:

Loyola O'Driscoll, Ferryland Craig Pardy, Bonavista Annie McCarthy, Government Members' Caucus Darrell Hynes, Official Opposition Caucus Steve Kent, Third Party Caucus

House of Assembly Service:

Kimberley Hammond, Clerk of Committee (A)

Witnesses Appearing:

Department of Education Dr. John Haggie, Minister

Dr. Greg O'Leary, Deputy Minister Lisa Baker-Worthman, Assistant Deputy Minister, Early Learning Robyn Hayes, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services Scott Linehan, Assistant Deputy Minister, K-12 Education Tanya Noseworthy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Post-Secondary Tracy Stamp, Departmental Controller Rob Feaver, Director, Student Financial Services Nancy Hollett, Director of Communications Angelica Hill, Executive Assistant The meeting was called to order at 5:37 p.m.

The Committee agreed to allow unaffiliated Members present to participate in the proceedings in the following manner: 10 minutes each at the end of the head of expenditure.

On motion, the Minutes of May 1, 2023 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 6:51 p.m. and resumed at 7:04 p.m.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Education.

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 8:26 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Sherry Gambin-Walsh Chair

0

Kimberley Hammond Clerk of Committee (A)