

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Social Services Committee

Date: April 15, 2024

Location: House of Assembly Chamber

Time: 6 p.m.

Committee Members Present:

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's (Chair) Chris Tibbs, Member for Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans (Vice-Chair)

Andrew Parsons, Member for Burgeo - La Poile (substituted for Perry Trimper, Member for Lake Melville)

Lisa Dempster, Member for Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair (substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North)

Pam Parsons, Member for Harbour Grace - Port de Grave (substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber)

Helen Conway Ottenheimer, Member for Harbour Main (substituted for Paul Dinn, Member for Topsail - Paradise)

Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains (substituted for Jim Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre)

Other:

Dave Hamlyn, Government Members' Caucus Emma Kannenberg, Official Opposition Caucus Scott Fleming, Third Party Caucus

House of Assembly Service:

Bobbi Russell, Clerk of Committee (A)

Witnesses Appearing:

Department of Justice and Public Safety

John Hogan, K.C., Minister

Denis Mahoney, K.C., Deputy Minister

Debbie Dunphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Emergency Services

Mike Noseworthy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Courts & Corporate Services

Lorelei Roberts, Assistant Deputy Minister, Public Safety & Correctional Services

Denise Woodrow, Assistant Deputy Minister, Legal Services

Neil Croke, Director, Infrastructure & Radio Communications

Kellee Martin, Director, Policy & Planning

Sharleen Simmons, Director, Policing & Public Safety

Lisa Stead, Director, Public Prosecutions

Patti Hurley, Departmental Controller

Tom Hayward, Manager of Budgeting
Jeremy Reynolds, Director of Communications
Pat Roche, Chief of Police, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary
Andrew Green, Executive Director, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary
Shelley Organ, Chief Executive Officer, Supreme Court
Dan Chafe, Superintendent of Prisons
Derek Peddle, High Sheriff

The meeting was called to order at 6:03 p.m.

On motion, the Member for Placentia - St Mary's was acclaimed Chair.

On motion, the Member for Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans was acclaimed Vice-Chair.

The Committee agreed to allow unaffiliated Members in attendance to participate in the proceedings in the following manner: a 10-minute allocation per member at the end of the head of expenditure.

On motion, the Minutes of May 3, 2023 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 7:18 p.m. and resumed at 7:30 p.m.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Justice and Public Safety.

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 8:07 p.m. to April 18, 2024 at 9 a.m. to review the Estimates of the Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development.

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, MHA Chair

Bobbi Russell

Clerk of Committee (A)