

### House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

# Minutes of the House of Assembly Social Services Committee

Date: April 19, 2024

Location: House of Assembly Chamber

Time: 9 a.m.

#### **Committee Members Present:**

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's (Chair)

Steve Crocker, Member for Carbonear - Trinity - Bay de Verde (substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St. George's - Humber)

Barry Petten, Member for Conception Bay South (substituted for Chris Tibbs, Member for Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans, Vice-Chair)

Pam Parsons, Member for Harbour Grace - Port de Grave (substituted for Perry Trimper, Member for Lake Melville)

Siobhan Coady, Member for St. John's West (substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North)

Lela Evans, Member for Torngat Mountains (substituted for Jim Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre)

#### Regrets:

Paul Dinn, Member for Topsail - Paradise

#### Other:

Craig Pardy, Member for Bonavista Eileen Anderson, Government Members' Caucus Annie McCarthy, Government Members' Caucus Darrell Hynes, Official Opposition Caucus Scott Fleming, Third Party Caucus

## **House of Assembly Service:**

Evan Beazley, Clerk of Committee (A)

#### Witnesses Appearing:

**Department of Health and Community Services** 

Tom Osborne, Minister

John McGrath, Deputy Minister

Jeannine Herritt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Services

Fiona Langor, Assistant Deputy Minister

Patrick Morrissey, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services

Gillian Sweeney, Assistant Deputy Minister

Chad Antle, Departmental Controller

Brian Scott, Director of Communications Susan Elliott, Executive Assistant

The meeting was called to order at 9:03 a.m.

On motion, the Minutes of April 18, 2024 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 10:38 a.m. and resumed at 10:53 a.m.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Health and Community Services.

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 12:14 p.m. to Tuesday, April 23 at 6 p.m. to consider the Estimates of the Department of Education.

Sherry Gambin-Walsh

Chair

Evan Beazley

Clerk of Committee (A)