

## House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

# Minutes of the House of Assembly Social Services Committee

Date: April 25, 2024

Location: House of Assembly Chamber

Time: 6 p.m.

#### **Committee Members Present:**

Sherry Gambin-Walsh, Member for Placentia - St. Mary's (Chair)

Craig Pardy, Member for Bonavista (substituted for Chris Tibbs, Member for Grand Falls-Windsor -

Buchans, Vice-Chair)

Andrew Parsons, Member for Burgeo - La Poile (substituted for Perry Trimper, Member for Lake

Melville)

Lisa Dempster, Member for Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair (substituted for Scott Reid, Member for St.

George's - Humber)

Gerry Byrne, Member for Corner Brook (substituted for Lucy Stoyles, Member for Mount Pearl North)

Paul Dinn, Member for Topsail - Paradise

Jim Dinn, Member for St. John's Centre

## Other:

Eileen Anderson, Government Members' Caucus Ashley Politi, Official Opposition Caucus Scott Fleming, Third Party Caucus

### **House of Assembly Service:**

Evan Beazley, Clerk of Committee (A)

#### Witnesses Appearing:

Department of Education

Krista Lynn Howell, Minister

Tracy King, Deputy Minister

Lisa Baker-Worthman, Assistant Deputy Minister, Early Learning

Terry Hall, Assistant Deputy Minister, Education Operations

Robyn Hayes, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services

Scott Linehan, Assistant Deputy Minister, K-12 Education

Tanya Noseworthy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Post-Secondary Education

Tracy Stamp, Departmental Controller

Angela Picco, Director of Communications

Angelica Hill, Executive Assistant

The meeting was called to order at 6 p.m.

On motion, the Minutes of April 19, 2024 were adopted as circulated.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 7:36 p.m. and resumed at 7:46 p.m.

The Committee recessed proceedings at 9:54 p.m. and resumed at 10:01 p.m.

The Committee reviewed and passed, without amendment, the Estimates of the Department of Education.

On motion, the Committee adjourned at 10:51 p.m. to Thursday, April 25, 2024 at 9 a.m. to review the Estimates of the Department of Municipal and Provincial Affairs.

Sherry Gambin-Walsh

Chair

Evan Beazley

Clerk of Committee (A)