

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: November 1, 2023 Location: Videoconference

Time: 12:30 P.M.

Members Present:

Hon. Derek Bennett, Speaker (Chair)
Hon. John Hogan, Government House Leader
Barry Petten, Opposition House Leader
Hon. Lisa Dempster, MHA (LIB), Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair
Lela Evans, MHA (NDP), Torngat Mountains
Craig Pardy, MHA (PC), Bonavista
Lucy Stoyles, MHA (LIB), Mount Pearl North
Kim Hawley George, Clerk of the House of Assembly/Secretary to the Commission (A)

Other

Brian Warr, Deputy Speaker Bobbi Russell, Principal Clerk of Committees/Director of Policy & Communications

The Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, recommended to the Lieutenant-Governor in Council that Travis Wooley be appointed acting Chief Electoral Officer at the appropriate step on the EP-06 scale, pursuant to subsection 5.5(1) of the *Elections Act, 1991*; and waived the 2-day waiting period for this decision.

The Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, recommended to the Lieutenant-Governor in Council that Ann Chafe be appointed acting Commissioner for Legislative Standards at the appropriate step on the EP-06 scale, pursuant to subsection 34(8) of the *House of Assembly Act*, and waived the 2-day waiting period for this decision.

Adjournment: 12:33 p.m.

Hon. Derek Bennett Speaker (Chair)

K. Hawley Storge.

Clerk of the House of Assembly/Secretary to the Commission (A)