

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: November 8, 2023 Location: Videoconference

Time: 9:30 a.m.

Members Present:

Hon. Derek Bennett, Speaker (Chair)
Barry Petten, Opposition House Leader
Hon. Lisa Dempster, MHA (LIB), Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair
Lela Evans, MHA (NDP), Torngat Mountains
Craig Pardy, MHA (PC), Bonavista
Lucy Stoyles, MHA (LIB), Mount Pearl North
Kim Hawley George, Clerk of the House of Assembly/Secretary to the Commission (A)

Other

Brian Warr, Deputy Speaker Bobbi Russell, Principal Clerk of Committees/Director of Policy & Communications

Regrets

Hon. John Hogan, Government House Leader

As required by the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, the Chair reported decisions from *in camera* meetings held on August 23 and October 15, 2023. Details of decisions made at those meetings were included with the Minutes circulated to the Commission for approval and are posted on the House of Assembly website.

CM 2023-056 The Commission approved the Minutes of meetings held on August 23, 2023 and October 15, 2023.

The Speaker presented a report of rulings on allowance use, in accordance with Section 24 of the House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act. Since the last report, the Commission issued rulings to reimburse expenditures as follows:

_	St. John's East - Quidi Vidi	John Abbott	\$96.88
_	Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans	Chris Tibbs	\$500.00
_	Harbour Grace - Port de Grave	Pam Parsons	\$80.00
_	St. Barbe - L'Anse Aux Meadows	Krista Lynn Howell	\$56.36
_	Gander	John Haggie	\$1117.55
_	Conception Bay South	Barry Petten	\$50.00
_	Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans	Chris Tibbs	\$175.00

Pursuant to the authority delegated to the Speaker by the Commission respecting urgent financial matters relating to the administration of the House of Assembly and statutory offices (CM 2008-095 refers), the Speaker reported the following decision:

Approval to extend the agreement with the current vendor for Hansard transcription software/system per the negotiated terms, and approval of a pre-commitment of funds for fiscal years 2024-25 through to 2029-30 for this service.

As required by the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, financial reports of the Legislature, as well as actual expenditures of Members, were presented to the Commission for the period from April 1, 2023 to June 30, 2023.

CM 2023-057 Pursuant to the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, the Commission approved the audited financial information for the fiscal year ended 31 March 2023 for the House of Assembly and statutory offices as recommended by the House of Assembly Audit Committee.

Pursuant to Section 36 of the *Auditor General Act, 2021*, the audited financial statements of the Office of the Auditor General for the year ended 31 March 2023 were presented to the Commission.

CM 2023-058 Pursuant to the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, the Commission directed that the Auditor General of Newfoundland and Labrador be appointed to audit the accounts of the House of Assembly and the statutory offices for the fiscal year ended 31 March 2024.

CM 2023-059 The Commission approved payment of the expenses totaling \$250.00, \$300.00, \$50.00 and \$100.00 for the Member for Lewisporte - Twillingate, to be paid within the appropriate allocation for the 2023-24 fiscal year.

The Speaker recused from the discussion and decision on CM 2023-059. The Deputy Speaker took the Chair.

The Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, approved a pre-commitment of funds for the 2023-24, 2024-25, 2025-26, 2026-27 and 2027-28 budget appropriations for consulting services for the management certification process.

The Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, approved a pre-commitment of funds for fiscal years 2023-24, 2024-25, 2025-26, 2026-27 and 2027-28 for consulting services for the audit of the Office of the Auditor General.

Adjournment: 12:33 p.m.

Hon. Derek Bennett Speaker (Chair)

Clerk of the House of Assembly/Secretary to the Commission (A)