

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: November 30, 2023 Location: Videoconference

Time: 1:30 p.m.

Members Present:

Hon. Derek Bennett, Speaker (Chair)
Hon. John Hogan, Government House Leader
Hon. Lisa Dempster, MHA (LIB), Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair
Lela Evans, MHA (NDP), Torngat Mountains
Craig Pardy, MHA (PC), Bonavista
Lucy Stoyles, MHA (LIB), Mount Pearl North
Kim Hawley George, Clerk of the House of Assembly/Secretary to the Commission (A)

Other

Brian Warr, Deputy Speaker Bobbi Russell, Principal Clerk of Committees/Director of Policy Gerrie Smith, Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel

Regrets

Barry Petten, Opposition House Leader

The Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, directed pursuant to subsection 48(2) of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act,* that the application of section 19 of the *Conflict of Interest Act, 1995* be modified to require that the Management Commission, on consultation with the Commissioner for Legislative Standards, may issue a waiver where a former Clerk has dealings with the House of Assembly within one year of last service to the Legislature. The Commission waived the two-day waiting period for this decision.

The Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, issued a waiver for Sandra Barnes, pursuant to section 19 of the *Conflict of Interest Act, 1995* and subsection 48(2) of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, allowing her retention as Senior Advisor to the Members' Compensation Review Committee, effective December 1, 2023. The Commission waived the two-day waiting period for this decision.

Adjournment: 1:48 p.m.

Hon. Derek Bennett Speaker (Chair)

Kim Hawley George
Clerk of the House of Assembly/Secretary to the Commission (A)