This is an official version.

Copyright © 2006: Queen’s Printer,
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Important Information
(Includes details about the availability of printed and electronic versions of the Statutes.)

Newfoundland Regulation 1996



Department of Development and Rural Renewal Notice
under the
Executive Council Act
(O.C. 96‑303)

(Filed July 10, 1996)

Under the authority of section 5 of the Executive Council Act, the Clerk of the Executive Council gives the following Notice.

Dated at St. John's, March 14, 1996.

Malcolm Rowe
Clerk of the Executive Council



        1.   Short title

        2.   Definitions

        3.   Department created

        4.   Powers and duties of the minister


Short title

        1. This Notice may be cited as the Department of Development and Rural Renewal Notice.


        2. In this Notice

             (a)  "department" means the Department of Development and Rural Renewal; and

             (b)  "minister" means the Minister of Development and Rural Renewal.

Department created

        3. (1) The department is created by Order in Council 96‑303 and is presided over by the minister.

             (2)  The department has 5 divisions, as follows:

             (a)  Employment/Regional Economic Development;

             (b)  Western Region;

             (c)  Central Region;

             (d)  Avalon Region; and

             (e)  Labrador Region.

Powers and duties of the minister

        4. The powers, functions and duties of the minister include the supervision, control and direction of all matters relating to

             (a)  regional, rural and community economic development programs and services to facilitate economic and employment development in all areas of the province;

             (b)  the provision of business information, counselling and financial support programs and services to small and medium sized enterprises, including private businesses, co‑operatives, credit unions and community development corporations, to stimulate economic and employment development throughout the province;

             (c)  promoting the value of an enterprise culture and encouraging economic self‑reliance throughout the province;

             (d)  the continuous survey of employment opportunities throughout the province to the end that the provincial labour force is employed to the fullest extent;

             (e)  labour market development programs and services for individuals who are without employment, who are underemployed, or who are entering the labour market for the first time and require career counselling information and advice;

              (f)  labour market adjustment programs and services resulting from disruptions in the labour force;

             (g)  monitoring immigration programs and policies;

             (h)  the provision of community services and programs to the Innu and Inuit native communities in Labrador, in partnership with the federal government and other ministers and departments of the government; and

              (i)  the administration of the Acts set out in the Schedule and of all orders and regulations passed or made under those Acts, including those powers, functions or duties necessary or desirable for carrying out the purpose of those Acts,

which are not, or in so far as they are not, the responsibility of another minister, agency, body, corporation, board, organization or person.


               1.  Economic Recovery Commission Act

               2.  Enterprise Newfoundland and Labrador Corporation Act