This is an official version.

Copyright © 2006: Queen’s Printer,
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Important Information
(Includes details about the availability of printed and electronic versions of the Statutes.)

Newfoundland Regulation 1996



Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation Notice
under the
Executive Council Act
(O.C. 96‑316)

(Filed July 10, 1996)

Under the authority of section 5 of the Executive Council Act, the Clerk of the Executive Council gives the following Notice.

Dated at St. John's, March 14, 1996.

Malcolm Rowe
Clerk of the Executive Council



        1.   Short title

        2.   Definitions

        3.   Department restructured and reconstituted

        4.   Powers and duties of the minister


Short title

        1. This Notice may be cited as the Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation Notice.


        2. In this Notice

             (a)  "department" means the Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation; and

             (b)  "minister" means the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Recreation.

Department restructured and reconstituted

        3. (1) The department is restructured and reconstituted by Order in Council 96‑316 and is presided over by the minister.

             (2)  The department has 2 divisions, as follows:

             (a)  Culture, Recreation and Historic Resources; and

             (b)  Tourism.

Powers and duties of the minister

        4. The powers, functions and duties of the minister include the supervision, control and direction of all matters relating to the promotion, encouragement and development generally of culture, historic resources, tourism, parks, wilderness and ecological reserves, including matters relating to

             (a)  cultural activities in the province, including arts and culture centres, the arts and letters committees, and the Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council;

             (b)  the historic resources of the province, including the heritage foundation, the provincial archives, museums established and operated by the province, and the archaeology and ethnology of the province;

             (c)  the management, preservation, control, protection and development of

                      (i)  provincial parks, as defined in the Provincial Parks Act,

                     (ii)  provincial interests in all national parks established in the province by the Government of Canada, and

                    (iii)  wilderness and ecological reserves as defined in the Wilderness and Ecological Reserves Act;

             (d)  the provision of information and advice throughout the province with regard to incentives, loan facilities, programs and other benefits which are available both federally and provincially and for which the department is mandated;

             (e)  tourist activities in the province, including

                      (i)  improvement throughout the province of accommodations, attractions, facilities and services for tourists,

                     (ii)  publicizing those aspects of the province's attributes that are considered to have an appeal for tourists, and

                    (iii)  support for and co‑operation with the associations or other public or private organizations engaged in developing and promoting tourism in the province;

              (f)  the encouragement, promotion, establishment, development, co‑ordination and implementation of amateur sport fitness and recreational activities; and

             (g)  the administration of the Acts set out in the Schedule and of all orders and regulations passed or made under those Acts, including those powers, functions or duties necessary or desirable for carrying out the purpose of those Acts,

which are not, or in so far as they are not, the responsibility of another minister, agency, body, corporation, board, organization or person.


               1.  Archives Act

               2.  Arts Council Act

               3.  Books Preservation of Copies Act

               4.  Colonial Building Act

               5.  Grand Concourse Authority Act

               6.  Historic Resources Act

               7.  National Parks Lands Act

               8.  Newspapers and Books Act

               9.  Provincial Parks Act

             10.  Tourist Establishments Act

             11.  Wilderness and Ecological Reserves Act