This is an official version.

Copyright © 2006: Queen’s Printer,
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Important Information
(Includes details about the availability of printed and electronic versions of the Statutes.)

Newfoundland and Labrador
Regulation 2003



Department of Mines and Energy Notice, 2003
under the
Executive Council Act
(O.C. 2002-320 & O.C. 2003-376)

(Filed July 21, 2003)

Under the authority of section 5 of the Executive Council Act, the Clerk of the Executive Council gives the following Notice.

Dated at St. John’s, July 11, 2003.

Tim Murphy
Deputy Clerk of the Executive Council



        1.   Short title

        2.   Definitions

        3.   Department restructured and reconstituted

        4.   Powers and duties of the minister

        5.   Repeal


Short title

        1. This Notice may be cited as the Department of Mines and Energy Notice, 2003.


        2. In this Notice

             (a)  "department" means the Department of Mines and Energy; and

             (b)  "minister" means the Minister of Mines and Energy.

Department restructured and reconstituted

        3. (1) The department is restructured and reconstituted by Order in Council 2002-320 and Order in Council 2003-376 and the department is presided over by the minister.

             (2)  The department consists of three branches, as follows:

             (a)  Mines;

             (b)  Energy; and

             (c)  Industrial Benefits.

Powers and duties of the minister

        4. The powers, functions and duties of the minister include the supervision, control and direction of all matters relating to the promotion and exploration of mineral and energy resources and related industry development activities including

             (a)  mines, minerals, quarries, quarry materials and beaches;

             (b)  onshore and offshore petroleum;

             (c)  electrical power;

             (d)  overall responsibility for provincial energy supply and demand;

             (e)  the development, monitoring, supervision, assistance or other government intervention into any of the industries described in paragraphs (a) to (d);

              (f)  royalties and associated matters, within or outside the province;

             (g)  the identification, assessment and promotion of industrial benefits from major resource development projects; and

             (h)  the administration of the Acts set out in the Schedule and of all orders and regulations passed or made under those Acts, including those powers, functions or duties necessary or desirable for carrying out the purpose of those Acts,

which are not, or in so far as they are not, the responsibility of another minister, agency, body, corporation, board, organization or person.


        5. The Department of Mines and Energy Notice, Newfoundland and Labrador Regulation 68/96, is repealed.


               1.  Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Atlantic Accord Implementation Newfoundland and Labrador Act

               2.  The Churchill Falls (Labrador) Corporation Limited (Lease) Act, 1961

               3.  Electrical Power Control Act, 1994

               4.  Hydro Corporation Act

               5.  Lower Churchill Development Act

               6.  Mineral Act

               7.  Mineral Holdings Impost Act

               8.  Mining Act

               9.  Miscellaneous Financial Provisions Act, 1975

             10.  Newfoundland and Labrador Power Commission (Water Power) Act

             11.  Petroleum and Natural Gas Act

             12.  Quarry Materials Act, 1998

             13.  Undeveloped Mineral Areas Act