This is an official version.

Copyright © 2008: Queen's Printer,
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Important Information
(Includes details about the availability of printed and electronic versions of the Statutes.)

Newfoundland and Labrador
Regulation 2008



Department of Natural Resources Notice
under the
Executive Council Act
(O.C. 2008-232)

(Filed August 15, 2008)

Under the authority of section 5 of the Executive Council Act, the Clerk of the Executive Council gives the following Notice.

Dated at St. John’s, August 15, 2008.

Sandra Barnes
Deputy Clerk of the Executive Council



        1.   Short title

        2.   Definitions

        3.   Department created

        4.   Powers and duties of the minister

        5.   Repeal


Short title

        1. This Notice may be cited as the Department of Natural Resources Notice.


        2. In this Notice

             (a)  "department" means the Department of Natural Resources; and

             (b)  "minister" means the Minister of Natural Resources.

Department created

        3. (1) The department was created by Order in Council 2004-201and is confirmed by Order in Council 2008-231.

             (2)  The department is presided over by the minister.

             (3)  The department consists of 2 branches, as follows:

             (a)  Mines; and

             (b)  Energy.

             (4)  The Forestry and Agrifoods Agency was created as a division of the Department of Natural Resources by Order in Council 2006-453 consisting of 2 branches, as follows:

             (a)  Forestry Services; and

             (b)  Agrifoods Development.

Powers and duties of the minister

        4. The powers, functions and duties of the minister include the supervision, control and direction of all matters relating to

             (a)  the promotion and exploration of mineral and energy resources and related industry development activities;

             (b)  mines, minerals, quarries, quarry materials and beaches;

             (c)  onshore and offshore petroleum;

             (d)  electrical power;

             (e)  overall responsibility for provincial energy supply and demand;

              (f)  the development, monitoring, supervision, assistance or other government intervention into any of the industries described in paragraphs (b) to (e);

             (g)  royalties and associated matters, within or outside the province;

             (h)  the identification, assessment and promotion of industrial benefits from major resource development projects;

              (i)  forest resources and the access, utilization, monitoring and protection of forest resources, including silviculture;

              (j)  shared responsibility for management, preservation, protection and development of wildlife and inland fish;

             (k)  enforcement responsibility in the areas of forestry and wildlife, and assisting in the enforcement in the areas of inland fisheries, motorized snow vehicles and all-terrain vehicles use, in reserves under the Wilderness and Ecological Reserves Act and under the Migratory Bird Convention Act (Canada);

              (l)  agriculture in all its branches and in its widest sense, without limitation of the word "agriculture", agrifoods, agronomy, horticulture, animal husbandry, aviculture, the development of pasturage and the growing of hay and the products of agriculture, including, without limitation of the word "products", animals, meats, fur, eggs, poultry, wool, dairy products, berries, grains, seeds, fruit, including wild fruit, fruit products, vegetables and vegetable products;

            (m)  animal health;

             (n)  food technology and marketing;

             (o)  agricultural land and the sustainable utilization, protection, conservation, management, surveying, mapping and development of agricultural land; and

             (p)  the administration of the Acts set out in the Schedule and of all orders and regulations passed or made under those Acts, including those powers, functions or duties necessary or desirable for carrying out the purpose of those Acts,

which are not, or in so far as they are not, the responsibility of another minister, agency, body, corporation, board, organization or person.


        5. The Department of Mines and Energy Notice, 2003, Newfoundland and Labrador Regulation 88/03, and the Department of Forest Resources and Agrifoods Notice, 2003, Newfoundland and Labrador Regulation 80/03, are repealed.


               1.  Agrologists Act

               2.  Animal Protection Act

               3.  Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Atlantic Accord Implementation Newfoundland and Labrador Act

               4.  The Churchill Falls (Labrador) Corporation Limited (Lease) Act, 1961

               5.  Crop Insurance Act

               6.  Dog Act

               7.  Donation of Food Act

               8.  Electrical Power Control Act, 1994

               9.  Energy Corporation Act

             10.  Energy Corporation of Newfoundland and Labrador Water Rights Act           

             11.  Farm Practices Protection Act

             12.  Farm Products Corporation Act

             13.  Forest Protection Act

             14.  Forestry Act

             15.  Heritage Animals Act

             16.  Hydro Corporation Act, 2007

             17.  Livestock Act

             18.  Livestock Health Act

             19.  Livestock Insurance Act

             20.  Lower Churchill Development Act

             21.  Meat Inspection Act (with Government Services)

             22.  Mineral Act

             23.  Mineral Holdings Impost Act

             24.  Mining Act

             25.  Miscellaneous Financial Provisions Act, 1975

             26.  Motorized Snow Vehicles and All-Terrain Vehicles Act (with Government Services)

             27.  Natural Products Marketing Act

             28.  Newfoundland and Labrador Power Commission (Water Power) Act

             29.  Petroleum and Natural Gas Act

             30.  Plant Protection Act

             31.  Poultry and Poultry Products Act

             32.  Quarry Materials Act, 1998

             33.  Undeveloped Mineral Areas Act

             34.  Vegetable Grading Act

             35.  Veterinary Medical Act, 2004