MINUTES

Resource Committee Meeting #2 – June 2, 2021

- 1. Pursuant to motion, and in accordance with Standing Order 72, the Committee met at 6:02 p.m. in the Assembly Chamber.
- 2. Present from the Committee were:

Brian Warr, Baie Verte - Green Bay, Chair

Pleaman Forsey, Exploits

Jordan Brown, Labrador West, Vice-Chair

Hon. Krista Lynn Howell, St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows, substituting for Lucy Stoyles, Mount Pearl North

Scott Reid, St. George's – Humber, substituting for Paul Pike, Burin - Grand Bank

Hon. John Abbott, St. John's East - Quidi Vidi, substituting for Sherry Gambin-Walsh,

Placentia - St. Mary's

Lloyd Parrott, Terra Nova, substituting for Craig Pardy, Bonavista

Also present:

Hon. Gerry Byrne, Corner Brook

Perry Trimper. Lake Melville

Paul Lane, Mount Pearl – Southlands

Steven Kent, Political Researcher, Third Party

Megan Winter, Political Researcher, Official Opposition

3. Appearing from the **Department of Industry**, **Energy and Technology** were:

Hon. Andrew Parsons, QC, Burgeo - La Poile

John Cowan, Deputy Minister

Phil Ivimey, Departmental Controller

Fiona Langor, Assistant Deputy Minister, Business and Innovation

Craig Martin, Associate Deputy Minister

Tansy Mundon, Director of Communications

Megan Nesbitt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate and Strategic Services

Gillian Skinner, Assistant Deputy Minister, Industry and Economic Development

Alex Smith, Assistant Deputy Minister, Mining and Mineral Development

Pierre Tobin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Energy

4. On motion of MHA Forsey, the Minutes of the meeting of May 31, 2021 (Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts and Recreation) were adopted as circulated.

- 5. The Committee agreed to allow non-Committee member MHAs to participate in the proceedings in the following manner: question time would alternate between the Official Opposition and the New Democratic Party for two turns each and then a non-Committee member MHA would be allowed to have a 10 minute turn. In total, 20 minutes was allocated to questions from independent Members.
- 6. The Committee recessed at 7:31 p.m. and resumed proceedings at 7:39 p.m.
- 7. The Committee reviewed and passed without amendment the Estimates of the Department of Industry, Energy and Technology.
- 8. On motion of MHA Brown, the Committee adjourned at 9:01 p.m. to Thursday, June 3, 2021 at 9:00 a.m. (Department of Fisheries, Forestry, and Agriculture).

Sandra Barnes Clerk