Thursday, March 27th, 2014

The House met at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon pursuant to adjournment.

By leave the Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr. King) tabled a document which the Premier had undertaken to table on March 26th.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Ms. Johnson) moved "That this House approves in general the budgetary policy of the Government" and delivered the Budget Speech.

It was moved by the Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Ms. Johnson) that debate on the Budget Speech be adjourned for further debate on tomorrow.

The Speaker put the question on the motion.

The motion was carried.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Ms. Johnson) informed the House that she had received a Message from His Honour the Administrator. The Message was read to the House by the Speaker as follows:

"27 March, 2014

As Administrator of the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador, I transmit Estimates of sums required for the Public Service of the Province for the year ending 31 March 2015, in the aggregate of \$7,488,728,900, and in accordance with the provisions of sections 54 and 90 of the *Constitution Act, 1867*, I recommend these Estimates to the House of Assembly.

Sgd. **J. Derek Green**, Administrator".

It was moved by the Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Ms. Johnson) that the Message together with the Estimates, be referred to a Committee of the Whole on Supply.

The Speaker put the question on the motion.

The motion was carried.

Thursday, March 27th, 2014

Pursuant to order and on motion the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole on Supply.

The Speaker left the Chair.

Mr. Verge took the Chair of Committee of the Whole House.

The budgetary documents were distributed.

On motion the Committee rose.

The Speaker resumed the Chair.

The Chairperson of the Committee of the Whole (Mr. Verge) reported that the Committee had considered the matters to them referred and had directed him to report that they had made some progress and ask leave to sit again.

On motion the report of the Committee was received and adopted and on motion it was ordered that the Committee have leave to sit again on tomorrow.

By leave, the Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr. King), moved pursuant to Standing Order 65(1) (a),(b),and (c) that the composition of the Government Services, Resource and Social Services Committees be as follows:

RESOURCE COMMITTEE

Mr. David Brazil - Member for Conception Bay East - Bell Island

Mr. Eli Cross – Member for Bonavista North

Ms. Lorraine Michael - Member for Signal Hill - Quidi Vidi

Mr. Christopher Mitchelmore – The Straits – White Bay North

Ms. Tracey Perry – Member for Fortune Bay – Cape La Hune

Mr. Keith Russell – Member for Lake Melville

Mr. Sam Slade - Carbonear - Harbour Grace

GOVERNMENT SERVICES COMMITTEE

Mr. John Dinn – Member for Kilbride

Mr. Clayton Forsey – Member for Exploits

Mr. Paul Lane - Member for Mount Pearl South

Mr. George Murphy – Member for St. John's East

Mr. Tom Osborne – Member for St. John's South

Mr. Kevin Parsons – Member for Cape St. Francis

Mr. Calvin Peach - Member for Bellevue

Thursday, March 27th, 2014

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMITTEE

Mr. Tony Cornect – Member for Port au Port

Ms. Lisa Dempster – Member for Cartwright – L'Anse au Clair

Mr. Dale Kirby – Member for St. John's North

Mr. Glen Little – Member for Bonavista South

Mr. Glenn Littlejohn – Member for Port de Grave

Mr. Kevin Pollard - Member for Baie Verte - Springdale

Ms. Gerry Rogers – Member for St. John's Centre

The Speaker put the question on the motion and declared the motion carried.

By leave, the Honourable the Government House Leader (Mr. King) moved, pursuant to Standing Order 65(1) (a),(b) and (c) that

(a) the following **Heads of Expenditure** be referred to the **Resource Committee**:

the Department of Advanced Education and Skills and Status of Persons with Disabilities

the Department of Environment and Conservation, Multi Materials Stewardship Board, Office of Climate Change, Energy Efficiency and Emissions Trading and Women's Policy

the Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture

the Department of Innovation, Business and Rural Development and Research and Development Corporation

the Department of Natural Resources and Forestry and Agrifoods

the Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation;

(b) the following **Heads of Expenditure** be referred to the **Social Services**Committee:

the Department of Child, Youth and Family Services

the Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation

the Department of Municipal and Intergovernmental Affairs

Fire and Emergency Services

the Office of Public Engagement

the Department of Justice

the Labour Relations Agency

Thursday, March 27th, 2014

the Department of Education the Department of Health and Community Services, Aging and Seniors and French Language Services; and

(c) the following **Heads of Expenditure** be referred to the **Government Services Committee**:

the Department of Finance

the Human Resource Secretariat

the Public Service Commission

the Department of Service Newfoundland and Labrador

the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission

the Office of the Chief Information Officer

the Government Purchasing Agency

the Department of Transportation and Works and Labrador and Aboriginal Affairs.

The Speaker put the question on the motion and declared the motion carried.

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Ms. Johnson) gave notice that she would on tomorrow move that the House Resolve itself into a Committee of the Whole to consider a certain Resolution respecting the Imposition of Taxes on Tobacco (Bill No. 12).

The Honourable the Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board (Ms. Johnson) gave notice that she would on tomorrow ask leave to introduce a Bill entitled "An Act To Amend The Income Tax Act, 2000" (Bill No. 13).

It was moved and seconded that when the House rose it would adjourn until tomorrow, Monday, March 31st at 1:30 o'clock in the afternoon.

On motion the House then adjourned accordingly.

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly.