It seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. Please enable JavaScript to improve your experience.

House of Assembly Coat of Arms

House of Assembly

Newfoundland and Labrador


Statutory Offices

There are seven (7) Statutory Offices which are established by statute and report to the House of Assembly through the Speaker. They are often termed independent offices because they are independent of the Executive Branch of government and are not directed by Cabinet or Ministers. In many cases, these offices perform an oversight role by reviewing Cabinet and departmental decisions and actions.

More information on each office can be found on their respective websites: